ENS.2007.7 | 6′
Poem by John Yau
Soprano & Brass Quintet


1. Andalusia (2)

2. Andalusia (5)

3. Andalusia (3)

This is the second version of a work originally composed for the outlandish combination of flute, contrabassoon, brass quartet, viola and cello; it seemed like a good idea to make a version that might actually one day be performed. It is a setting of John Yau’s poem “Andalusia” – well, a setting of three parts, anyway (of eight). I have virtually nothing to say about the piece itself except that I hope its lack of seriousness and utter dearth of compositional profundity are taken as virtues as much as vices. In any case, it’s short.